19.4 C
Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Brantford artistic swimming star headed to Olympics

After years of training and competing at...

Local physician leaves behind a lasting legacy 

After dedicating nearly 49 years to caring...

Rob Davis reflects as sun sets on career with BPS

As Rob Davis’ tenure with Brantford Police...

GEDSB staff members recognized with annual award

EducationGEDSB staff members recognized with annual award

Julie Chaplin, a French language educator, and Philip Kuckyt, Manager of Transportation Services for Grand Erie District School Board, are this year’s recipients of the Patti McCleister Memorial Award, recognizing outstanding contributions to leadership, camaraderie and realizing the board’s vision of learning, leading and inspiring.  

“Working with students to create positive change is, in my opinion, one of the most  important parts of my job, and also the most rewarding part of my professional life,” said Chaplin, a teacher of nearly 24 years at St. George-German School and staff  advisor for the school’s Student Leadership Team. “I’m extremely proud to accept this award, which is a reflection of collaboration with an amazing network of people both at home and at St. George-German School, and also the legacy of Patti McCleister who I never had the honour of meeting, but know she was a remarkable person and an inspiration to so many.”  

In her of more than two decades at St. George-German Public School, Chaplin has quietly fostered a culture of care, compassion and inclusion among students, staff and volunteers that has extended to the local community. In her role guiding the Leadership students, she has inspired countless learners over the years to understand their own capabilities in making the world a better place, raising awareness and resources for local initiatives, as well as international projects that show students what’s possible as she leads by example. That example has set high standards for the leadership practices of colleagues, promoting empathy and respect as cornerstones of the student experience at school.

Julie Chaplin, a French language educator, and Philip Kuckyt, Manager of Transportation Services for Grand Erie District School Board, are this year’s recipients of the Patti McCleister Memorial Award.

“I had the pleasure of working closely with Patti while she was supporting the district’s development and leadership goals,” said Kuckyt  “Her leadership style was one that I admired and focused on adopting in both my personal life and in my role with Grand Erie; I am both honoured and humbled to be a co-recipient of this year’s award.”  

Ensuring thousands of students across the district get to and from school safely, efficiently and in an environment that sets a positive tone for their days is the tall order Kuckyt oversees each day. Doing so requires meticulous attention to detail, prompt reactions, creative  problem solving, a calm approach, and ongoing learning to continuously update technology and improve practices. His leadership and involvement in Ontario-wide committees has allowed other school boards to benefit from his knowledge and experience, and his ability to  motivate, model best practices, hard work, and understand what others need to succeed in their roles has resulted in a transportation team that takes the safety and well-being of students to heart. 

“Each of the recipients of the Patti McCleister Memorial Award embodies a profound commitment to guiding, supporting and advocating for learners, families and colleagues for the betterment of their schools, departments and communities,” said JoAnna Roberto,  Director of Education, who, along with Patti McCleister’s husband, Ted McCleister, Grand  Erie’s board of trustees and senior team, presented the awards at Monday night’s Board  meeting. “This award captures Patti’s legacy in Grand Erie, which was one of kindness,  generosity, and the ability to bring out the best in others.”  

Patti McCleister was Grand Erie’s Training and Development Officer, a valuable team  member and an inspiration to many. She passed away in 2013 after a struggle with cancer. The award is given annually to the staff member(s) or team who best exemplifies these traits.  Recipients are nominated by their co-workers. 

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles