28.2 C
Friday, July 12, 2024

Brandon Montour to bring Stanley Cup to Six Nations

Burford and Six Nations residents supported their...

Rob Davis reflects as sun sets on career with BPS

As Rob Davis’ tenure with Brantford Police...

BPS Officer awarded Ontario Medal for Police Bravery

Brantford Police Service Constable Trevor Taylor received...

Brantford Council updates Fireworks Regulation Bylaw

City of BrantfordBrantford Council updates Fireworks Regulation Bylaw

The City of Brantford is taking a significant step towards recognizing and celebrating the diversity within the community after City Council’s recent approval to update the municipalities’ Fireworks Regulation Bylaw during their regular meeting on January 30, 2024.

In a unanimous decision, Council approved the inclusion of Lunar New Year and Diwali in the City’s permissible dates for consumer fireworks. In 2024, Lunar New Year occurs on February 10 and Diwali falls on November 1.

This update reflects the City’s commitment to inclusivity and recognition of the changing demographics in our community. The decision to include Lunar New Year and Diwali in the permissible dates for consumer fireworks aligns with the City’s commitment to accommodating cultural and religious celebrations, and is meant to strike an appropriate balance between allowing limited use of fireworks for those who enjoy them and addressing the concerns of those who find them disruptive.

Following a comprehensive analysis by the Brantford Fire Department, in conjunction with the City’s Legal Services and Bylaw staff, it was determined that incorporating these additional cultural celebrations into the City’s approved dates upholds the balance set forth by the previous bylaw amendment. A comprehensive review of adjacent municipalities’ fireworks bylaws also revealed that the majority of other like size municipalities include cultural celebrations beyond Victoria Day and Canada Day, such as Diwali and Lunar New Year.

The City’s approved dates for use of fireworks now includes the following holidays:

  • Lunar New Year
  • Victoria Day, and 3 calendar days preceding
  • Canada Day, and 3 calendar days preceding
  • Diwali 

Residents are reminded to always be mindful of celebrating safely and to learn more about fireworks safety at Brantford.ca/FireworksSafety.

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles