16.7 C
Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Home is where the heart is for Stanley Cup finalists

While Brandon Montour and Adam Henrique will...

Popular family-run farm is committed to supporting local

Elberta Farms Country Market has grown to...

Youth Engagement Series provides a safe space for youth

A new pilot program titled the Youth...

Kevin Davis reaffirmed as Mayor after election recount

City of BrantfordKevin Davis reaffirmed as Mayor after election recount

Chris Gauthier, City Clerk and Director of Clerk Services for the City of Brantford, officially announced that Mayor Kevin Davis has won the recount of the Office of the Mayor of the City of Brantford on Saturday, May 6, 2023.

The results of the recount reaffirm the original certified results announced on October 25, 2022, following the October 24, 2022 Municipal Election.  

The official results of the recount are as follows:

Mayor Kevin Davis – 9,223

Dave Wrobel – 9,013

Ryan Smith – 1,490

John Turmel – 343

On October 25, 2022 the City of Brantford City Clerk and Returning Officer declared the official results for Brantford’s October 24, 2022 municipal election. As per the final count, Mayor Kevin Davis was re-elected to a second term with 9,223 votes. The recount reaffirms this result.

In response to runner up candidate Dave Wrobel’s application with the court, naming the City as a defendant, and to avoid a lengthy and expensive tax funded legal process, a resolution to conduct a recount was reached by both parties that was confirmed by the Ontario Superior Court of Justice on April 12, 2023, based on the settlement reached by the parties.

Beginning at 9 a.m. this morning until 1:15 p.m., the City conducted a recount in Council Chambers at Brantford City Hall, whereby all in-person ballots submitted manually for the October 24, 2022 Municipal Election for Office of the Mayor were recounted. The process involved five recount stations set up in Council Chambers at City Hall, each staffed by one Counter and one Recorder. Mayor Kevin Davis and Candidate Dave Wrobel were present with scrutineers.

At the close of the recount, the tally sheets and “summary of results” for each ballot box/recount station was provided to the City Clerk to complete the official “Statement of Results.”

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles