22.1 C
Saturday, June 22, 2024

Rob Davis reflects as sun sets on career with BPS

As Rob Davis’ tenure with Brantford Police...

BPS Officer awarded Ontario Medal for Police Bravery

Brantford Police Service Constable Trevor Taylor received...

Home is where the heart is for Stanley Cup finalists

While Brandon Montour and Adam Henrique will...

County of Brant and Brantford residents re-elect Mayors

City of BrantfordCounty of Brant and Brantford residents re-elect Mayors

Residents in the County of Brant and City of Brantford hit the polls for the 2022 municipal election on Monday, October 24.

In the County of Brant, residents re-elected David Bailey as Mayor, receiving 5964 votes. Seven past council members were re-elected and will be joined by three newly elected councillors.

John MacAlpine (1167 votes) will have a new ward-mate in Ward 1, with newly-elected Jennifer Kyle (1010 votes.)

In Ward 2, Steve Howes was re-elected with 1341 votes. He will also have a new ward-mate, Lukas Oakley who was elected with 751 votes.

Both incumbents in Ward 3 were re-elected, John Bell received 920 votes and John Peirce received 1022 votes.

Robert Chambers and David Miller acclaimed their seats in Ward 4.

In Ward 5, newly-elected Christine Garneau received 1018 votes and will join incumbent Brian Coleman (829 votes.)

In the City of Brantford, 27 per cent of eligible voters showed up to have their voices heard in the election.

In a tight race, Kevin Davis was re-elected as Mayor, receiving 9220 votes. Dave Wrobel trailed Davis in the race by 208 votes.

In Ward 1, residents re-elected Rose Sicoli (1641 votes,) who will be joined by Michael Sullivan who led the Ward with 2020 votes.

Incumbent John Sless was re-elected in Ward 2 with 2571 votes and will be joined by newly-elected Gino Caputo (1803 votes.)

Both Dan McCreary (2658 votes) and Greg Martin (2144 votes) re-claimed their positions as councillors for Ward 3.

In Ward 4, residents had the largest selection of candidates. Richard Carpenter was re-elected with 3074 votes and will be joined by new ward-mate Linda Hunt (1530 votes.)

Brian Van Tilborg (1518 votes) will also have a new ward-mate in Ward 5, with Mandy Samwell being elected with 1307 votes.

In the school board elections, all three Grand Erie District School Board Trustee incumbents were re-elected. Greg Anderson, Carol Ann Sloat and Susan Gibson will be joined by newly-elected John Bradford.

Both Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board Trustee seats were acclaimed by Bill Chopp and Rick Petrella. Pierre Gregory also acclaimed the seat for Conseil Scolaire Viamonde Trustee.

Dorothee Petit-Pas was elected into the seat for Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir Trustee.

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles