17.8 C
Monday, June 24, 2024

Rob Davis reflects as sun sets on career with BPS

As Rob Davis’ tenure with Brantford Police...

BPS Officer awarded Ontario Medal for Police Bravery

Brantford Police Service Constable Trevor Taylor received...

Home is where the heart is for Stanley Cup finalists

While Brandon Montour and Adam Henrique will...

City of Brantford hosts inaugural meeting of new Council

City of BrantfordCity of Brantford hosts inaugural meeting of new Council

Council members for the City of Brantford 2022-2026 term of Council swore their oaths of office at their official inaugural meeting on Tuesday, November 15, 2022.

Kevin Davis, Mayor for the City of Brantford, delivered his inaugural address whereby he outlined key goals, objectives and community priorities that Council will focus on over the next four years.

“Each new member of council – new or returning – comes to council with ideas about how to improve our community. It’s important that we work together to craft a common vision of council’s goals for the next term,” said Mayor Davis, “We will see a growing city with new opportunities – for employment, attainable housing, education, retail, entertainment, transportation and more. We will face challenges, differences, and as in the past, we will adapt, learn and make those opportunities work for our community.”

Over 80 people were in attendance inside Council Chambers, this being the first inauguration to take place in the new City Hall.

Councillors representing constituents for the first time this term are Michael Sullivan for Ward 1, Councillor Gino Caputo for Ward 2, Councillor Linda Hunt for Ward 4 and Councillor Mandy Samwell for Ward 5. Returning Councillors are Councillor Rose Sicoli for Ward 1, Councillor John Sless for Ward 2, Councillor Dan McCreary for Ward 3, Councillor Greg Martin for Ward 3, Councillor Richard Carpenter for Ward 4 and Councillor Brian Van Tilborg for Ward 5. 

The next meeting of Council will take place on November 22, 2022 where Councillors will be appointed to Committees of Council.

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles