19 C
Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Home is where the heart is for Stanley Cup finalists

While Brandon Montour and Adam Henrique will...

Popular family-run farm is committed to supporting local

Elberta Farms Country Market has grown to...

Youth Engagement Series provides a safe space for youth

A new pilot program titled the Youth...

Brantford Sports Council names 2022 award finalists

Local NewsBrantford Sports Council names 2022 award finalists

The Brantford Sports Council has announced the finalists for the 2022 Sports Awards ahead of their 17th annual Sports Awards and Recognition Celebration on Saturday, March 11 at the Sanderson Centre. 

The organization said that they received a record number of nominations in all 9 categories as all groups have been working to develop post pandemic participation in training and development programs, events and tournaments. 

The Brantford Sports Council’s annual Awards & Recognition program engages some 20 youth sport groups and represents one of the BSC’s major community engagement initiatives held during the year.

There are a variety of other activities planned throughout the day as they also kick off the “Celebration of Youth Sports Week” that runs from Saturday, March 11 to Saturday, March 18.

Planned activities throughout the day will provide the opportunity for youth sport groups and community partners to showcase their organizations while engaging athletes, volunteers and families representing their sport and sports organization.

The Awards being presented are as follows:

The Kevin Finney Memorial Award – Sportsmanship and Dedication

Angela Marina, Swimming

Dylan Campbell, Track & Field

Hunter Payne , Swimming

Jessica La Ronde, Softball

The Phyllis Gretzky Memorial Award – Female Youth Leadership 

Cassidy Chapin, Multi-Sports

Halayna Montrichard, Swimming

Josie MacLean, Multi-Sports

Julia Hesner, Multi-Sports

Marissa Wheeler, Artistic Swimming

The Frank Bricker Memorial Award – Male Youth Leadership 

Carter Scheffel, Swimming

Hunter Ballantyne, Baseball

Isaac Cherewka, Football

Myles Thompson, Multi Sports

The Dave Levac Award – The Award of Excellence for Sports Officiating 

DJ McQueen, Hockey

Jim Chmiel, Basketball

Shannon Scheffel, Aquatics

Sue Grinton, Hockey

The John Macklin Memorial Award – Coach of the Year 

Dan Brown, Football

Sarah Marckesano, Baseball

Steve Petrella, Basketball

Stu Monture, Lacrosse

The George Churchill Memorial Award – Sports Volunteer of the Year 

Connie Martin, Artistic Swimming

David Herriot, Football

Sandra Gagne, Community Hockey

Tina Hedley, Volleyball

The Jack Calbeck Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Sponsorship 

Cowan Insurance Group

Giant Tiger

Renway Energy

The George Jones Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Volunteerism 

Rick & Sandy Beedham, Volleyball

Suzanne Paulins, Aquatics

Thom Foster, Hockey

The Jimmy Wilkes Memorial Award – Team of the Year

BCI Junior Boys Rugby Team

Brantford Bobcats Girls U15 Softball Team

Brantford CYO Girls U15 Basketball Team

Brantford Red Sox 12U Baseball Team

The Community Ambassador Award and the Frank Tomlin Memorial Award for Sportsperson of the Year will also be presented.

“Come out and be part of the “VOICE FOR SPORTS” and celebrate the achievements of our athletes, teams, officials, volunteers and community partners who continue to make a difference in our community,” the sports council said. “Wear your favourite sports attire and join us for a fun-filled event.”

A flag raising at Harmony Square will take place at 9 a.m., before doors open at the Sanderson Centre at 10 a.m. and the awards ceremony kicks off at 11 a.m.

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles